Ethan’s Temptress Bride

18Jun11

Author: Michelle Reid

Publisher: Harlequin Mills and Boon

Date: 2002

Hero: Ethan Hayes, architect. Also a billionaire but for some unexplained reason, he chooses not to spend any of inheritance and only live on his earned income. Has a complicated Past which I think may have been explored in a previous book. Is a tall, dark, idiot Englishman with no heart worth mentioning. Or not.

Heroine: Eve Herakleides, half-Greek heir to a billionaire. Likes hot pink, short skirts, flirting and Ethan Hayes (when she doesn’t hate him for being a tall, dark, idiot Englishman with no heart worth mentioning).

Other: There is a cast of thousands in this book, which made me suspect that it’s part of a series. Still, you can ignore most of them and concentrate on the main characters quite happily.

Marriage: Engagements: fake and real.

Enjoyment factor: This is one of the most awesome category romances I’ve read in a long, long time. Interestingly, I just checked out the reviews on Amazon and there are a lot of 1 and 2 star reviews. Mostly complaining about the heroine: immature, spoiled rotten, unlikeable, a hussy, obnoxious, manipulative, self-centered, and bratty. I disagree. And especially in light of recent discussions about date rape and the Slutwalk, I think those reviews say a lot more about the readers than they do about this book. Which is awesome.

There will be spoilers.

We first see Eve at her birthday party, enjoying herself with a group of friends she’s known for many years. I don’t think it’s a huge surprise that she’s the centre of attention and I don’t think it makes her spoiled or self-centered. She’s young, pretty and enjoys flirting and teasing. That doesn’t make her a hussy.

When her drink is spiked by one of those so-called friends, she is taken home and there is an attempted date rape. This is Not Her Fault. Not because she wore a tight dress, nor because she had a drink, nor because she trusted her friends. One of the awesomest things about this book is the way that our hero gets this absolutely and without question. Every time Eve tries to blame herself, Ethan firmly reminds her that she is not to blame in any way at all.

It’s Ethan who steps in when he hears Eve screaming and though he fails to chase down her attacker, he is totally brilliant with Eve afterwards. Especially since he doesn’t much like the short dresses she wears and the way she flirts with everyone.

‘What happened here, Eve?’ he questioned grimly.
‘What do you think?’ she shot back on a bitter choke. ‘I suppose you think I deserved it!’
‘No,’ he denied that.
‘Liar.’ She sobbed and lifted the sheet up to use it to cover her face.
‘Eve – nobody of sane mind would believe a woman deserves what appears to have happened here,’ he insisted soberly.
‘I’m drunk,’ she admitted.
He could smell the alcohol.
‘It’s all my fault.’
‘No,’ he said again.

That, right there, is why I love this book.

Admittedly, the plot takes on something of a ridiculous and unfathomable twist when Eve’s grandfather appears on the scene. But if you read Mills and Boon for the gritty realism of the plots, you must be accustomed to regular disappointment.

What matters more to me is how the characters respond to each other and I found that completely believable. I loved the way that they spark against each other, tease each other and enjoy each other. I understood Eve’s jealousy – and her regret as soon as she’s sent Ethan away. I felt Ethan’s disappointment at her lack of trust – and cheered once he realised he had to go back and tell her the truth. I was glad when they got their happy ending, and convinced that they would indeed be happy together.

Epilogue: Nope.



8 Responses to “Ethan’s Temptress Bride”

  1. 1 v

    Oh? I’m quite surprised you have never read the related books of Ethan’s Temptress bride since they are among the more well known ones from Michelle Reid. I think the continuity series is called something like Hot-blooded Husbands (or maybe I am entirely mixing this title up with something else) and aside from the book in the series, there’s three extra books which feature characters in the series or at least have some mention of them (one of them is called the Mistress Bride, really, the first one chronologically and the two other… I can’t remember but I think one of the hero’s name is Visconte while another one is Vasquez or some spanish aristocrat)… If I remember right, Ethan is featured in the 2nd book (or first one if you count the Mistress Bride) which is happening around the same time as this book since there’s a scene fully explored in the 2nd book which is only briefly mention in this one. The 3rd book is this one, and they both feature in the 4rth book for which I forgot the title but it involves a half-prince half-prince, and then Passionate Marriage (the last book). [Pardon my hazy recounting but it has been a long time since I read those books although they did last in my memory enough for me to have an impression of them]
    I’m glad you enjoyed this book. It was not my favourite in the series but neither did I like it deserved the reviews it had. I agree with you that the chemistry was there between the two.

    • 2 v

      Yes… I remember… I think it was called the Passionate husbands. This series is really best appreciated in order.
      In chronological order, Mistress Bride is the first book (though not part officially of the series, it is worth the read, and its characters feature in the 1st book.)
      The Sheik’s chosen wife (a truly moving book)
      Ethan’s Temptress bride
      The Arabian Love-child (probably the most tortured hero)
      A Passionate Marriage

      Then, from the three books you mentioned, only the Mistress Bride should be read first while the other two, The Unforgettable Husband (also quite the tortured couple, but with plenty of chemistry), and The Spanish husband (which in itself, is part of another serie) can be read separately later on.

      Like you, even though I forget most books I have read, this series always remain engraved in my mind, perhaps because of how emotionally tugging it is. Out of the 5 books, I would say that Ethan’s is the least emotional, which is probably the cause behind the low rating.

      Ros, I have never commented before but your blog is very nice. Thank you for writing reviews, they are very enjoyable to read.

      • 3 v

        Thank you for helping me remembering!!

        I want to ask you if there is a reason your name is the same as mine? Is it pure coincidence?

      • 4 Ros

        Thanks!

    • 5 Ros

      I wasn’t reading Moderns/Presents back in 2002, so that’s why. I had a nice email conversation with Michelle Reid after writing this review and she pointed me in the direction of the others.

  2. 6 Anonymous (v)

    Such a quick reply!

    Actually, it is not a coincidence…. Well, the main reason is I do not wish to display myself publicly so I’m sorry if it offended you. I just thought it would give continuity to the conversation we’re having if I used your “name.”

    Again, I apologise.

    • 7 Ros

      It’s fine to be anonymous, but it definitely helps if you pick a screen name and stick with it. It makes conversations quite confusing when ‘v’ is answering ‘v’ and no one else can tell which is which!

  3. 8 v

    It seems we were on this page during the same time.
    I don’t mind you using my name for anonymity. I just found it slightly confusing and curious, that’s all. I am not offended so rest assured.

    Also, I wanted to say that I will not be back on this site for at least a couple of months due to a busy life so this visit was just to say goodbye for a while.
    I will miss visiting your site. Hope you will continue enjoying sharing your reading experiences with us.



Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

